About the NEC

 

 

About The NEC­

 
The mission of the Northcoast Environmental Center is to promote understanding
of the relations between people and the biosphere and to conserve, protect,
and celebrate terrestrial, aquatic, and marine ecosystems
of northern California and southern Oregon.

 


Board Members

Larry Glass - President, Representative for Safe Alternatives For Our Forest Environment
Dan Sealy - Vice-President, At-Large
Jennifer Kalt - Secretary, Representative for Humboldt Baykeeper
Chris Beresford - Treasurer, At-Large
Bob Morris - Trinity County Representative, At-Large
Richard Kreis  - Representative for Sierra Club North Group, Redwood Chapter
CJ Ralph - Representative for Redwood Region Audubon Society
Alicia Hamann - Representative for Friends of the Eel River
Gary Falxa -
Representative for California Native Plant Society
Briana Villalobos -
Representative for EPIC
 

Staff 

Larry Glass - Executive Director - larry@yournec.org
Bella Waters
-
Administration & Development Director - bella@yournec.org
Morgan Corviday - EcoNews Editor, Web Director- morgan@yournec.org
Anne Maher - 
Programs Coordinator - anne@yournec.org
Delia Bense-Kang - Marine Protected Areas Outreach Coordinator - delia@yournec.org
Madison Peters - Coastal Cleanup Coordinator - madison@yournec.org
Tiffany Perez -
Office Assistanttiffany@yournec.org

 

 

EcoNews

 

Reporting on Environmental News since 1971

One of the longest running bioregional environmental papers in the country, published for over 45 years! Printed bi-monthly, EcoNews is distributed locally, mailed nationally to our members, and full editions are available for viewing online. EcoNews features articles on topics affecting the Northern California/Oregon bioregion, and important national and international environmental news and legislation.

EcoNews Editor/Layout
Morgan Corviday

 

 

The EcoNews Report

 

Every Thursday at 1:30pm on KHSU, 90.5 FM

The EcoNews Report is a weekly radio broadcast produced by the NEC and aired by KHSU-FM, our local public radio station located on the Humboldt State University campus. The program, which includes environmental news, commentary, and live and taped interviews with journalists, writers, scientists, legislators, and others engaged in areas of environmental interest, is the station’s longest running public affairs program. 

The EcoNews Report airs on Thursdays at 1:30 p.m., is available for streaming via the KHSU website, and is now podcasting on iTunes!

You can find KHSU on these frequencies: 
90.5 FM Arcata-Eureka 
91.9 FM Crescent City-Brookings 
89.1 FM Ferndale-Fortuna 
89.7 FM Garberville 
99.7 FM Willow Creek

 

Hosts:

Jennifer Kalt (Humboldt Baykeeper)
Scott Greacen (Friends of the Eel River)
Tom Wheeler (EPIC
Delia Bense-Kang (NEC)

 

NEC Fiscally-Sponsored Programs

 

Humboldt Baykeeper:

Humboldt Baykeeper, formerly a program of the Ecological Rights Foundation, was launched in October 2004 to safeguard our coastal resources for the health, enjoyment, and economic strength of the Humboldt Bay community through education, scientific research, and enforcement of laws to fight pollution. We are proud to have Humboldt Baykeeper under our umbrella.

Jennifer Kalt - Director - jkalt@humboldtbaykeeper.org
Jasmin Segura
- Bay Explorations Coordinator - jasmin@humboldtbaykeeper.org

www.humboldtbaykeeper.org